My 5 New Year Resolutions – Yoshiko Roth-Hidalgo

13 Jan

Each year, I embark on my new year resolutions with fresh motivation.  My resolutions are never outlandish… the usual “eat healthier”, “exercise more” or “be a kinder person”… this year, it’s all about “can I really live up to my resolutions”.  We shall see in 3 months how I do.  My top 5 resolutions for 2010 are:

Keep healthy eating in perspective

We all know what’s bad, what’s good and what’s better.  I feel fortunate that I rarely crave junk food or soda, but what about that last mile of “goodness” where you have to choose between healthy and enjoyable?  For 2010, I will maintain good habits, but I draw the line where my pleasure in food is truly compromised.  Example:  Brown rice is better than white rice and brown rice tastes pretty good.  But do Sushi rolls with brown rice kind of miss the point?  I remember my mother’s horrified look when she saw brown rice sushi rolls at Wholefoods for the first time.  Japanese people are one of the healthiest people on earth with the highest life expectancy.  A lot of them still eat white rice instead of brown.  I’d say, it’s ok to eat white rice as part of a healthy diet, and let’s face it, it often tastes a lot better than brown rice.

Don’t exercise if it feels like a chore

I’ve tried many tricks to get motivated to hit the gym:  “Visualize a healthier, fitter self!”  Or “Imagine how GOOD you will feel after the work out.”  It may work a couple of times, but really, I think it’s torture to have to coax myself to exercise like that for a whole year, let alone the rest of my life.  My resolution:  I will only work out if I feel naturally excited or at least motivated to do so.  And to trick my mind, I will incorporate as much “accidental” or “hobby” exercise into my daily life as possible.  Take the stairs, walk to the subway, do the vacuum cleaning myself, run to make a light, go dancing.  No more blank stares on the treadmill in 2010!

Get more sleep

Healthy eating and sufficient exercise has become almost a question of social status these days.  People that live on junk food and are couch potatoes are considered… uncool!  That consciousness has not reached the topic of sleep yet, even though it’s been shown that chronic lack of sleep affects our health just as much as if not more than what we eat and how much we move.  Lack of sleep results in inflammation, messes with your blood sugar and your heart health.  In 2010, I will make sure I get enough sleep on the reg, yes, at the expense of work or exercise!

Keep in touch more

Feeling connected to people is a major source of peace and happiness in life.  It’s so easy to become consumed by work and your own life’s chores, so for 2010 I vow to keep in touch more with friends and family.  Yes, at the expense of work or exercise!

Keep it simple

This is less concrete but probably my most important resolution.  From the clothes I keep to the goals I set, I vow to keep my life simple and free of clutter, literally and metaphorically because simplicity is key to a serene mind, especially when you are about to embark on parenthood.

Let’s touch base in 3 months and see how I fared!

Leave a Reply

